Feb. 25, 2017

022517podc

Warrior Creek Mountain Bike Trail.

Everyone sees the big berms, but this was a beautiful view of the single-track.

I had planned two laps of the 12+ mile trail, so I figured a touch over 3 hours.

022517poda

Six miles in (exactly half way or in the middle of the woods) , I felt this.. a broken seat rail.

022517podb

My repair kit was sparse, but I had wrapped my CO2 in Gorilla Tape, so I taped a tire lever as a splint. A mile or so later, I passed a campsite and jumped on the road to get back to my truck. Since the trail is almost 2 hours from home, I didn’t want to quit riding, so I drove to Walmart – nothing but big comfy saddles. A quick search I found Cook’s Sporting Goods in Wilkesboro. It is a very cool outfitter place, backpacking, paddling, bike, ball sports, they had it all. On the bike wall all they had was big comfy saddles, dejected I asked the kid working if they had anything else – he asked me if I wanted more cushioning… (how old do I look?) ummm no I want a real saddle. He said he had a box of web sale stuff.

022517podd

A Giant Contact something was close enough, marked down, it’s a winner.

Back to the trail and another lap. Great day of riding!

Leave a Reply

